Interviu: Anathema

Am amânat interviul pentru după concert şi sper că băieții vor fi suficient de treji pentru câteva întrebări. Ajung la hotel şi aflu că aceștia sunt la duş, încercând să se recupereze după o noapte nedormită – autografe şi fotografii pentru fani, petrecere şi băutură cu prietenii – tot ce trebuie alături de un show fantastic. După o vreme, apar Vincent şi Dave, ne așezam la o masă şi începem – o superbă jumatate de oră cu niște muzicieni spirituali.

MAD: Arăți puţin obosit.

Vincent: Da?

MAD: Numai  un pic.

Vincent: Pai știi, probabil că este pe figura mea, dar mă simt bine; cred că este evident că după concertul de aseară am avut o mica petrecere.

MAD: Am auzit.

Vincent: A fost o nebunie, nu reușeam să scăpam de oameni. Cât mi-aş dori să fiu un nimeni în astfel de momente, numai un om din mulțime ca toți ceilalți şi să mă distrez. Bineînțeles, apreciez situația, îmi dau seama ce înseamnă asta şi sunt mereu curtenitor cu toata lumea – trebuie să fii, altfel ai fi un măgar sau ceva în genul de star rock idiot.

MAD: Cred că se întâmpla de la sine.

Vincent: Mda, şi îmi place pentru că îmi plac cluburile de noapte şi-mi place să cunosc oameni şi să mă distrez, dar în cazuri ca aseară numai în ultimele 15 minute am fost singuri la masă, fără să ne deranjeze nimeni. Nu ştiu, ce ora era? Au fost cel puţin două ore şi jumătate – trei de dat autografe şi de făcut fotografii în continuu. Este o situaţie ciudată. Bineînțeles, nu mă deranjează, dar e ciudat… Imaginează-ţi, ce ai face tu într-o astfel de situatie?

MAD: Nu știu, eu nu trebuie să mă gândesc la asta.

Vincent: Da, dar ce ai face? Cum te-ai simţi?

MAD: Cred că este ca o recompensă, într-un fel.

Vincent: Este, da, este. Ai dreptate. Nu sunt obosit!

MAD: Acesta a fost al treilea unplugged în Romania, ca să nu mai vorbim de cele două concerte „electrice”. După Timișoara şi Sibiu, care au fost așteptările voastre în ceea ce privește București şi cât de mult s-au realizat ele?

Vincent: Eu personal nu am avut nici o aşteptare. Tot ce am știut a fost că eu, Danny şi Dave vom susţine o chestie împreuna şi asta a fost tot. O mai făcusem şi știam la ce să mă aștept de la noi şi nu de la audienţă sau situație. în mod intenționat nu am dorit nici o informaţie înainte, nu am ştiut câţi oameni vor fi, ce tip de loc, ce avea să se întâmple şi nu m-am gândit deloc la asta pentru că îmi plac surprizele.

MAD: Trebuie că vă place mult aici, ținând cont că vă tot întoarceți – cand spui „România”, care este primul lucru la care te gândești?

Vincent: Oamenii. Şi inteligenţa lor, şi natura lor de a fi cu picioarele pe pământ.

Dave: Foarte prietenoşi.

Vincent: Foarte prietenoși, normali şi OK. Faza e că nu întâlnești asta peste tot. Noi suntem așa şi de unde venim noi e aşa. Când venim aici, recunoaştem căldura inimilor, agerimea minţii şi tot felul de lucruri de acest fel.

MAD: Şi fanii din România vă adoră pe voi. Cred că ştii că biletele pentru concertul de aseară s-au epuizat într-o săptămână – ce spui de chestia asta?

Vincent: Repet, nu am aflat despre asta decât după ce am ajuns aici. Este extraordinar, oau, o parte epuizate până să afle presa de ele şi apoi toate au dispărut. Asta îmi spune că ar trebui să ne întoarcem şi să facem aici un concert aşa cum trebuie. Un concert mare de rock, nu un festival, dar un turneu de concerte rock. Cel puţin un concert, dar mi-ar plăcea să fie cel puţin trei: București, Sibiu şi Timișoara.

MAD: Şi poate în alte locuri.

Vincent: Poate, am fi probabil prima trupă care să facă un turneu în România (râde). Sună nebunesc – cine sunt tipii ăştia, sunt nebuni, vor să facă turneu în România?! Avem acest manager american: ce naiba faceţi, băieţi, unde naiba este România pana la urmă?! (râde) Ar fi grozav şi mi-ar plăcea foarte mult.

MAD: Ați susținut mai multe concerte acustice, trei din ele numai în România; ce v-a determinat să începeți şi în ce fel este diferită trăirea fata de un concert obișnuit?

Vincent: OK, daca ne întrebi pe mine şi pe Danny vei obține doua răspunsuri.

MAD: Să auzim versiunea ta.

Vincent: Cântecele ne imploră să le cântam şi în varianta acustică. Ele se impun astfel. Imaginează-ţi că ai o chitara acustică acasă, îţi cânţi propriile cântece şi suna bine. Apoi vii şi mixezi violoncelul şi normal că devine altceva, violoncelul ducând melodia acolo unde nu se poate exprima nici un alt instrument; violoncelul este special şi pentru ceea ce facem noi așa ca… aceasta este formula ideală, cel puţin eu, Danny şi Dave, cel puțin. Ar fi grozav să fie şi restul trupei, dar nu avem bani pentru a-i aduce pe toți, însă minim așa.

MAD: Cu Angels Walk among Us, ne-ați făcut de vara trecută să avem așteptări mari – cum merge treaba cu noul album?

Vincent: Mersi de întrebare, merge foarte, foarte bine. Am realizat un CD cu toate mixajele făcute. Știi cele trei piese pe care le-am lansat pe Internet – două din ele, nu spun care, sunt pe album şi una nu e. Dar pe celelalte le-am aranjat şi mixat într-un format demo, ceea ce e fantastic, sună grozav, astfel încât să știm exact ce vom face chiar înainte de a ne apuca de treabă. Obiectiv vorbind, scoţându-mă pe mine din ecuație, detaşându-mă de ea, în mod obiectiv aş fi foarte prins de trupa asta. Acesta este un lucru pe care nu l-am mai spus de mult timp; nu cred că l-am mai spus, ca să fiu sincer. Am fost poate prins când am scos primul album, poate şi la al doilea, dar am luat-o ca atare. Acum este cu totul altceva. Acum este ceva pe care-l vreau în colecția mea de albume. Noi sperăm să ne facem să ne simțim bine. Singura pretenție este de a ne ridica la cea a celorlalţi dintre noi; ca şi cum John mi-ar da o piesa, o idee şi eu o preiau şi o fac mai bine decât s-ar fi gândit el că poate ieși. Singurul lucru pe care-l pot face este să o cânt mai bine. John spune „Ce crezi despre asta?” şi dacă merge, spun că e în ordine, apoi trebuie să fac mai mult cu ea, trebuie să-l uimesc şi la fel şi cu Danny. Tocmai am făcut asta cu Danny; aveam o piesa destul de lunga, 8 minute, dar ultimele 3 erau un outro liniștit de pian, care avea niște acorduri frumoase şi m-am gândit: nu lăsa acele acorduri acolo, adu-le aici. Poate suna un pic ţăcănit, dar vorbeam cu acordurile de la finalul piesei spunând „Hei, nu stați singure, veniți aici să faceți cunoștința cu tobele, cu basul, este grozav aici!” şi pana la urma când aceasta s-a întâmplat, a schimbat întreg cântecul, acesta fiind acum complet, 5 minute. Este un proces lent şi permanent, e o chestie haioasă cu scrisul pieselor, pentru că mi-e greu să-mi dau seama când un cântec este gata, la fel şi Danny. Chiar daca partea de chitară sau de pian este gata, îmi spun că o pot face mai bine, dar nu e mai bine, este numai diferit. Odată ce ai făcut-o, ai făcut-o, cum ai putea-o face mai bine?

Dave: E ca şi cum ai complica lucrurile, intri prea mult în ele şi piesa se pierde în ea însăşi.

Vincent: De aceea este important să-ti amintești de tăcere, când să nu cânţi. Acesta este unul din marile secrete în muzica – când să nu cânţi şi să lași atmosfera să domine. Este foarte, foarte important. Avem cam patruzeci sau cincizeci de idei pe care le-am putea transpune, dar trebuie să alegem zece, trebuie; piesele noastre sunt şi destul de lungi, vrem să facem cam 11-12, vrem să facem un album dublu – este prea multa informație şi se întâmpla cam așa: OK, fie, hai să alegem 10. Şi așa avem 10 piese, aproximativ o oră şi cam așa lucrăm acum.

MAD: Ați găsit o casă de discuri?

Vincent: Asta se va întâmpla după ce înregistram. Nu-i așa că-i o situație faina? Facem mai întâi totul noi, abia apoi vorbim cu lumea.

Ştefan: Mulți procedează așa acum.

Vincent: Da, nu mai trebuie să te bazezi pe o companie de discuri. Nu aveam bani deloc așa că a trebuit să înaintam albumul acustic unei case de discuri că ea să ne poată da un cec să cumpăram echipament şi să plătim chiria unei case. Avem un fel de bungalou, pe marginea unui teren de golf ce seamănă cu un șantier de construcții, împrejmuit numai de câmp şi de cai, nu-i nimic acolo în afara de noi. Numai noi. Stau acolo de trei luni şi o să continui să stau acolo pana când se termină totul şi apoi mă voi muta. E un lucru chiar ca lumea, poate deveni uneori că Big Brother sau Ziua cârtiţei, dar este bine, chiar îmi face plăcere.

MAD: Vreo idee legata de data lansării?

Vincent: Albumul acustic este programat pentru 25 august, pe 18 disponibil pentru descărcat. Următorul album e greu de spus când, nu l-am terminat, îl voi mixa şi masteriza şi când e gata vom aborda casele de discuri şi va depinde de ele când hotărăsc să-l lanseze. Sper că va fi anul acesta, dacă nu, la începutul anului viitor.

MAD: La ce ar trebui să ne așteptam în privința muzicii, a versurilor, a temelor abordate?

Vincent: Nu mă întreba asta pentru că nu-ţi voi răspunde. Asculta-l. Când îl vei înțelege, îl vei înțelege, este caraghios să vorbesc acum despre asta; nu este oportun, nici nu l-am realizat încă. Am în minte cum va suna, dar când îl vei avea îţi vei face propria părere şi oricum nimic din ceea ce aş spune eu nu o va schimba.

MAD: Dar cum crezi că vor reacționa fanii?

Vincent: Nu am nici cea mai vaga idee. Nu eu trebuie să spun asta, nu? Nu sunt ei. Important pentru mine este cum voi reacționa eu, pentru că în cazul albumelor din trecut, cu excepția primului, nici nu am vrut să le ascult vreo două săptămâni, nici nu am vrut să le recunosc – am stat câte o lună în studio cu colegii şi am urât tot procesul. De data aceasta va fi diferit. Deci important pentru mine este cum voi reacționa eu. Daca eu reacționez bine, mă aștept ca şi alții să facă la fel, este singurul lucru pe care-l pot spune.

MAD: Ce planuri aveți pentru la vara, ceva festivaluri?

Vincent: Vara aceasta – mult timp de stat în bungalou cu mulți oameni care miros (râde), înregistrând muzică, tone de distracție. Da, va fi Ziua cârtiţei în fiecare zi, câteva festivaluri între, că să ne mai învioram sfârșiturile de săptămâna (râde). În afara de asta, va fi Ziua cârtiţei, posibil până în august.

MAD: Cu ce altceva în afară de Anathema vă mai ocupați? Formația nu mai este la fel de activă ca, să zicem, acum 5 ani – cum va câștigați existenţa?

Vincent: Acum trăiesc cu trupa, locuiesc în studio, nimic altceva. Până de curând, când locuiam în Liverpool, aveam un job part-time, lucram cu oameni cu dificultăţi de învăţare; îi ajutam să ia tot felul de decizii, de la medicație la alegerea unui film la cinema. Era nostim şi îmi încălzea inima, am făcut o grămada de lucruri.

Ştefan: Asta te-a influențat scrierea pieselor?

Vincent: Da, cred că da într-un fel, pentru că asta te influențează oricum că om , așa cum o face orice în viață dacă ești sincer în muzică. Cred că m-am schimbat puţin de șase ani de când am avut această slujbă. A fost o experiență minunată. Şi nu am făcut numai asta, am mai lucrat în spitale, într-un spital psihiatric timp de un an, cu oameni cu autism.

MAD: Se pare că-ti place să lucrezi cu oamenii.

Vincent: Iubesc oamenii, da, intr-adevăr. Nu pot să mă abțin, adică ce altceva exista cu adevărat? Comunicarea, căldura, inimile lor, mințile lor, altfel este plictisitor. Înnebunesc dacă nu am ocazia de a vorbi cu oamenii. Cam acum doua săptămâni eram în bungalou, numai eu şi Jamie de o săptămâna, toți ceilalți erau ocupați. Eu şi Jamie suntem buni companioni, ne distram, dar într-o zi am zis: „Hai să ieșim, să mergem… oriunde” . Dar nu e nimic acolo şi trebuie să parcurgi kilometri pentru a găsi primul bar sau ceva de genul, unde să fie oameni. Am găsit un bar şi era finala Cupei UEFA în acea zi. Am zis OK, ne uităm la Cupa UEFA. Jamie era liniștit, dar eu vorbeam cu toată lumea, încercam să-i fac pe toți să râda tot timpul, încercam să interacționez în orice fel. Am nevoie de oameni.

MAD: Daca ar fi să trasezi acum o linie, cum ţi-ai vedea cariera că muzician?

Vincent: Cariera că muzician – asta îmi suna aiurea. Nu am o cariera de muzician, e ciudat să gândesc așa. De ce a ales el violoncelul? (se uita la Dave) De ce te-ai apucat de violoncel? De ce mai cânţi la violoncel?

Dave: Pentru că-mi place la nebunie. Daca nu mi-ar plăcea, m-aâ opri, m-aâ apuca de altceva.

MAD: OK, atunci cu alte cuvinte: din viața şi trecutul tău muzical, ce te-a făcut mândru cel mai tare şi ce ai schimba?

Vincent: Viitorul album mă va face mândru. Sunt mândru de tot ceea ce am realizat, fiecare piesă este micul nostru copil şi nu pot regreta nimic. Aceste lucruri sunt oricum lecții, dacă ai regrete în viață ce sens ar avea? Este numai o lecție, important este să nu repeți greșelile, dar în ceea ce mă privește mă gândesc la viitor, la muzica ce urmează. Sper că acestea să mă facă pe atât de mândru pe cât mă aștept. Am propriile păreri, abia aștept să le realizez. Şi atunci vei ști. Atunci nu va trebui să mai vorbesc despre asta, vei putea asculta şi vei spune: OK, este aici. Nu-mi pune întrebări, este aici, pur şi simplu, ascultă, fă-ti propria părere, este aici. Asta-i tot.

MAD: Care crezi că este lucrul cel mai important în muzica?

Vincent: Buna întrebare… Cel mai important lucru în muzica?

Dave: La asta mă gândeam şi eu!

Ştefan: Unii spun că trebuie să existe un echilibru intre ceea ce exprimi, mesajul, şi tehnică.

Vincent: Corect. Nu exista un răspuns simplu la aceasta întrebare, pentru că nu exista un răspuns. Nu poate fi un răspuns scos din contextul interpretării oamenilor. Fiecare are propria interpretare privind muzica, fiecare are propria exprimare, așa că nu există un răspuns la rece, trebuie să fie personal. Eu personal cred că este vorba de mai multe lucruri… Rezumă repede, anul asta, Vincent… Sinceritatea – în orice fel, nu numai în muzica, să fii cu adevărat sincer cu tine şi să spui că poți trăi cu asta. Vreau să pot trăi cu ideea că am fost sincer.

Ştefan: Nu simți că înnebunești atunci când vrei să exprimi ceva rău de tot şi dintr-un motiv nu reușești? Nu găsești versurile sau linia de chitară…

Vincent: Ca într-o conversație? Am simțit că înnebunesc pentru că stăteam cu fosta mea prietena în mașina, în liniște timp de o oră, nu știam ce să spun şi m-am simțit că naiba – asta a fost îngrozitor.

Ştefan: În ceea ce privește muzica, ai simțit ceva ce doreai să transpui într-un cântec şi…?

Vincent: Cu muzica este ușor, poți face muzică, nu trebuie să gândești; partea grea în viața este când trebuie să gândești.

Ştefan: Te voi cita la faza asta.

Vincent: Cu relațiile este dificil uneori, cu muzica este natural, este cel mai natural şi revelator lucru pe care-l poți face şi partea buna este că nu are orgoliu, nu are nimic atașat de ea, este numai ea şi este liberă. Şi în momentul în care ești liber înăuntru şi o lași să curgă este cel mai revelator şi frumos moment. Asta este ușor, este grozav, îmi place la nebunie. În ceea ce privește restul de lucruri, partea dificila este să vorbești despre ele. Câteodată mă gândesc, privitor la versuri – toți avem acele momente de reflecție, nu? Acele cele mai profunde întrebări pe care ni le punem, fie că sunt filosofice, fie că sunt emoționale, fie că ne detașam din context.

Ştefan: În legătură cu asta – ai simțit vreodată că te expui prea mult?

Vincent: Nu. M-am expus de multe ori în public, de multe ori doar de distracție, m-am dezbrăcat şi am alergat gol pe stradă. Nu prea îmi pasa de multe lucruri. Repet, în relații şi cu cei apropiați aveam grija să nu dezvăluim prea multe, dar astăzi m-am schimbat complet; întreaga mea viața s-a schimbat, nu am fost mai fericit niciodată şi trebuie să-ţi spun sincer cât este de bine așa. Despre ce este viața până la urmă? Nu este despre a avea idei prostești, despre regrete, şi teamă, şi singurătate – toate acele lucruri pe care le-am purtat după mine toată viața – totul s-a desprins de mine într-o săptămâna. S-a desprins şi mi-am zis: o, Doamne… S-a întâmplat acum vreo zece luni. Nu mai am nimic de ascuns şi este minunat.

Ştefan: Ați cântat ceva Pink Floyd, v-ați gândit să faceți ceva similar cu The Dark Side of the Moon, să zicem, un album conceptual?

Vincent: Nu… nu. Asta e Pink Floyd, asta e Roger Waters. De ce naiba am vrea noi să facem asta? De ce am face-o? Noi vrem să face propriile noastre lucruri bine. Dacă vorbești despre un album conceptual – poate, poate. Dar e dificil – știi, The Dark Side of the Moon a fost o viziune, în timp ce noi avem trei-patru-cinci viziuni, deci cum am putea realiza ceva care să aibă coeziune şi să fie onest în același timp? Roger Waters vorbea despre alta situație decât noi; el vorbea despre condiția umana, se exprima prin ochii unei ființe umane, acelei ființe umane şi îşi transmitea sentimentele şi gândurile astfel. Noi ne exprimam prin noi înşine, este un lucru complet diferit, așa că „nu” ar fi răspunsul la întrebarea ta.

Ştefan: Încă ceva: cred că anul acesta Liverpool este capitala culturala europeana – aveți vreun plan legat de asta?

Vincent: Nici nu mai locuiesc acolo; este puţin amuzant – în momentul în care a început să se întâmple câte ceva acolo, eu am plecat, am ratat acel tren. Îi doresc orașului numai bine, este un loc frumos din care să provii şi un loc frumos la care să te întorci, când te întorci până la urmă.

Ştefan: Deci intenționezi să te întorci…

Vincent: Da, să vizitez lumea şi să mă urc în Copacul Magic din Central Park. Este un copac în parc, celebru, te poți urca în el şi când ajungi în vârf ramurile se întind egal pe orizontală astfel încât pot încăpea acolo cu ușurința șase-șapte oameni şi e fain numai să stai acolo, cu o sticla de șampanie pentru o ocazie specială, să mergi să ții un toast pentru viitor. Sunt astfel de lucruri la care vreau să mă întorc, unii oameni, iar în ceea ce privește manifestările culturale, Liverpool este un loc foarte cultural şi muzical, cu părţile sale bune şi rele, un adevărat amestec, diferit de orice alt loc din Anglia sau din lume, îmi imaginez. Îmi place că provin de acolo, dar trebuie să merg mai departe, viața mea nu este la Liverpool.

MAD: Pari puţin nostalgic.

Vincent: Nu mai locuiesc acolo. De fapt, nu sunt prea nostalgic, că să-ti spun adevărul. Chiar mă cam bucur că l-am părăsit, dar întreabă-mă în câţiva ani şi s-ar putea să am mai multa nostalgie, acum e prea curând.

Ştefan: Unde ţi-ar plăcea să trăieşti?

MAD: Cu excepția bungaloului…

Vincent: Paris. Cu excepția bungaloului (râde). Nu vreau să trăiesc în bungalou! Paris, mi-ar plăcea foarte mult să trăiesc în Paris.

Ştefan: V-a deranjat când publicul a început să aplaude aseară? Ați avut un dialog în care-l rugați s-o lase mai moale.

Vincent: Ăla a fost Danny! Noi doi suntem diferiți. Oameni diferiți, atâta tot.

Ştefan: Deci nu te-a deranjat.

Vincent: Nu, nu pe mine. Accept asta. Oamenii plătesc, cumpăra bilet, vor să vina acolo. Atâta timp cat nu strigă peste muzică când ții un concert acustic… Dacă încep să urle pe fond de beție, atunci este greșit. Dar nu au fost așa ieri; au strigat între piese, dar au fost foarte tăcuţi în timpul lor, ceea ce este bine. Da, ascultă cu mare atenție, iar intre piese fă ce vrei din partea mea. Așa sunt eu, diferit de Danny, cred.

MAD: Mulțumesc.

Vincent: Salutari.

Si aceasta a fost una dintre cele mai interesante conversaţii pe care mi le amintesc, mă bucur că am avut ocazia să particip la ea, fără limite de timp. Ca să numai vorbesc de autograful pe care l-am primit pe afiş: Pentru Diana. Fie ca numai fericirea să-ţi treacă pragul. Frumos. Mulţumesc, Vincent.

————————————————————————————————————————————-

Interview: Anathema

I postponed the interview after the show and I hope the guys are awaken enough for some questions. I arrive at the hotel and I hear they were in the shower, trying to make it after a night without sleep – autographs and pictures for the fans, party and drinks with friends – everything next to a fantastic show. After a while, Vincent and Dave come out the door, we sit at a table and get it started – one superb half an hour with witty musicians.

MAD: You look a bit tired.

Vincent: Do I?

MAD: Just a bit.

Vincent: Well, you know, it’s probably on my face, but I feel ok; I think it’s just that obviously after the concert last night we had a bit of a party.

MAD: I heard that.

Vincent: It was kind of insane, we couldn’t really get away from everybody. What I would give to be anonymous at those moments and just be a member of the crowd like everybody else and just have fun. Of course, I appreciate it, and I acknowledge it for what it is, and I’m always gracious towards everybody – you have to be, otherwise you’re an asshole, or some kind of rock star idiot.

MAD: I guess it comes with the territory.

Vincent: Yeah, I would love it ‘cause I like night clubs and meeting people and having fun and everything, but in last night situations it was only the last fifteen minutes that we actually had a table to ourselves and nobody bothering us, and that was it. I don’t know, what time was that? It was at least two and a half, maybe three hours of constant autographs and photographs all the time. It’s weird, it’s a strange situation. I don’t mind, of course, but it’s just very odd… Imagine, what would you do in that situation?

MAD: I don’t know, I don’t have to think about that.

Vincent: Yeah, but what would you do? How would you feel?

MAD: I guess it’s rewarding somehow.

Vincent: Rewarding, it is, yeah, it is. It is, you’re right, you’re right. I am not jaded! (laughs)

MAD: This was your third unplugged in Romania, not to mention the two “electric” shows. After Timisoara and Sibiu, what were your expectations towards here and how were they met?

Vincent: I personally didn’t have any expectations. All I knew was that me, Danny and Dave were gonna do a gig together and that’s all I knew. We’ve done that before and I knew what to expect from ourselves and not from the audience and the situation. I deliberately didn’t want any information before about any of it, I didn’t know how many people, I didn’t know the type of place, what was gonna happen, and I didn’t think about it at all before here because I like surprises.

MAD: You must really love it here, since you keep coming back – when you say “Romania”, what is the first thing that comes to you head?

Vincent: People. And their intelligence, and their down to earth nature.

Dave: Very friendly.

Vincent: Very friendly, being normal and OK. It’s just that you don’t get that everywhere. We’re like that, you know; where we’re from, it’s like that. When we come here, we really recognize the warm hearts, and sharp minds, and all that kind of things.

MAD: The fans love you back in Romania. You do know that the tickets for last night concert were sold out within a week – what about that?

Vincent: Again, I only found out that when I came here. That’s amazing, wow, partly sold out before the press got hold of it as well and then all the tickets were gone. That tells me that we should come back and do a proper, proper, concert here. A big rock concert, not like a festival, but a big tour of rock concerts. At least one, I’d like it if we could do three, Bucharest, Sibiu and Timisoara.

MAD: And maybe some other places too…

Vincent: Maybe, we would probably be the first band to ever tour Romania (laughs). Sounds crazy – who are these guys, they’re crazy, they wanna tour Romania?! We’ve got this manager, he’s American: what the fuck are you doing, guys, where the fuck is Romania, anyway?! (laughs) That would be great and I’d love to do that.

MAD: You’ve been doing a lot of acoustic shows, only in Romania three of them; what made you do this and how are they different in mood from a regular concert?

Vincent: OK now, if you were talking to me or Danny, you’d get two very different answers to this question.

MAD: Let’s hear your version.

Vincent: The songs implore us to do them in an acoustic way. The songs demand themselves in that way. Imagine you play acoustic guitar at home, you play your own songs, it sounds good, you know it’s gonna be good. Then when you mix it with the cello of course it becomes an entirely different matter and the cello really carries there melodies that you just can’t express on any other instrument; really, the cello’s so special with what we do as well, so… this is the ideal setting, at least just me, Danny and Dave, at least. With the rest of the band would be great, but we don’t have the money to bring everybody, but at least this.

MAD: With Angels Walk among Us, you drove our expectations very high last summer – how are things going with the new album?

Vincent: Thank you for asking, it’s going really, really good. I’ve made a CD of all the mixes that I’ve done. You know the three songs from the Internet that we released – two of those, I won’t say which two, are on the album and one of them is not on the album. But for the rest, I kind of arranged and mixed them in a demo format, which is fantastic, it sounds great, in order so we know exactly before we even start what we’re gonna do. Objectively, removing myself from the equation, removing my feeling about it, objectively I would be into this band. I would be really into this band, that’s not something that I’ve said for along time; I don’t even think I’ve ever said that, to be honest with you. Because maybe when we did the first album I was really into it, on the second maybe, but I just went along with it. Now it’s an entirely different matter. This is something that I would want among the records of my collection. We just hope to make each other feel good. It’s like the only expectation we have to live up to are each other’s; like John would give me a song, an idea and I’ll roam with it, and I’ll make it better than he thought it could’ve been. The only thing I can do is make that I can play it better. John says “What d’you think of that?” and if it goes well, I say it’s alright, then I have to do more with it, I have to blow his mind and the same with Danny as well. I’ve just done this thing with Danny; we had this song which was quite long, 8 minutes, but the last 3 minutes was like a quiet piano outro, which had some beautiful chords, and I thought: well, don’t leave those chords over there, bring them over here. It may sound a bit crazy, but I was talking to the chords at the end of the songs saying “Hey, don’t be on your own, don’t be lonely, come over here and meet the drums, meet the bass guitar, it’s great over here!” And eventually when it did, this changed the song ‘cause the outro brought the chords over here. I brought those chords and then the song was done, 5 minutes, done. It’s kind of a slow and on-going process, it’s a funny thing with song-writing really, because I kind of have a hard time recognizing when the song is finished, but so is Danny as well. Even when the guitar part is done, or the piano part, I say I’m sure I can do that better, but it’s not better, it’s just different. Once you’ve done it, it’s done, how could you do it better? It’s never any better.

Dave: It’s like you complicate things, you go to much in it and then the song loses it.

Vincent: That’s why it’s important to remember silence, remember when not to play. That’s one of the biggest secrets in music really – when not to play, and when to let the mood take over. That’s really, really important. We’ve got like forty or fifty ideas we could do, but we’re gonna pick ten, we have to; our songs are quite long as well, we want to do 11-12, we want to do a double album – it’s kind of too much information so it’s like: OK, alright, come on and just pick 10 then. So we got 10 songs and it’s about an hour, and this is how we’re doing it now.

MAD: Did you find a record label?

Vincent: That’s going to be after it’s recorded. Isn’t that a great situation? We do the thing ourselves first and then speak to people afterwards.

Ştefan: A lot of people are doing this now.

Vincent: Yeah, you don’t have to anymore. You don’t have to rely on a record company anymore. I mean we don’t have any money, so we had to give the acoustic album to the record company just so they could give us a cheque to buy some equipment and pay for rent in a house. What we’ve got is like this bungalow on the edge of a golf course that looks like a building site, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by nothing but field and horses, and there’s nothing there at all. Just us. I’ve been living there now for three months and I continue living there now until the whole thing is done and after that I’ll move. It’s a great thing actually, it can get a little bit like Big Brother or Groundhog Day, but it’s good, actually I quite enjoy it.

MAD: Any ideas on the release date?

Vincent: The acoustic album it’s gonna be out on the 25th of August, 18th available for download. The next album is too difficult to say really, we just have to finish it, get it mixed, get it mastered, as soon as it’s ready as a package we approach the labels and it’s whenever they can put it out. I hope it’s this year, if not it will be early next year.

MAD: What should we expect of it, the music, the lyrics, the topics?

Vincent: Don’t ask me that question ‘cause I’m not gonna tell you. You listen to it. When you get it, you’ll get it, it’s silly of me to even talk about it right now; I mean it’s embarrassing as well, we haven’t done it yet, we haven’t finished it. I know in my mind what it’s gonna sound like, but when you get it you’re gonna make your own mind and anyway it’s nothing I say that would make any difference.

MAD: But how do you think the fans will react to it?

Vincent: I have no idea. It’s not for me to say, is it? I’m not them. What’s important to me is how I react to it, because every album we’ve done in the past, apart from the first one, I didn’t want to listen to it for about two weeks, not even wanted to acknowledge – just been for a month in the studio with these guys and I just hated the whole thing. This time it’s gonna be different. So what’s important to me is how I react to it. If I react good, I expect other people will too, that’s the only thing I can say really.

MAD: What are your plans for the summer, any festivals involved?

Vincent: This summer – lot of staying in the bungalow, with lots of smelly people (laughs), recording music, loads of fun. Yes, it’s gonna be like Groundhog Day everyday, some festivals in between, just to brighten up our weekends (laughs). Other than that, it’s Groundhog Day until August possibly.

MAD: What else are you doing besides Anathema? The band is not so active as let’s say 5 years ago – what do you do for a living?

Vincent: These days, right now, I live with the band, I live in the studio, there’s nothing else that I do. Before that I used to, when I lived in Liverpool, up until recently; I had a part time job there, I used to look after people with learning difficulties, helped them make the right choices about their lives regarding everything really, from medication to going to the cinema. It was really, really funny and heart-warming, I did all kind of things with that.

Ştefan: Did that influence you in writing some songs?

Vincent: Yeah, well, I suppose so, in a way, because it influences you as a person anyway, like anything in life, if you’re honest in your music. We don’t really write conceptual stuff, we just write honestly. I think I’ve changed a bit and that was like six years ago, when I started that job; I was doing it for six years and did all kind of things with that. It’s an amazing experience. It wasn’t just that what I did, I worked in hospitals, I worked in psychiatric hospitals for about a year, I worked with people with autism, Asperger syndrome.

MAD: It looks like you enjoy working with people.

Vincent: I love people, yeah, I do. I can’t help it, I mean what else is there really? The communication, the warmth, their hearts, their minds, it’s boring otherwise. I go crazy if I don’t get a chance to talk to people. I was in the bungalow about two weeks ago, just me and Jamie and the bungalow for a week, everybody else was busy. Me and Jamie are very good company to each other, we have fun, but this day we were: “Come on, let’s just go out, let’s go to… anywhere”. But there’s nothing around and you have to walk for miles just to even find a pub or something, where people are. And we found the pub and it was the UEFA Cup final that day. And we said OK, we’ll watch the UEFA Cup. Jamie’s cool, but I was talking to everybody in the pub, constantly trying to make everybody laugh, just trying to have some kind of interaction. I need people.

MAD: If you were to draw a line now, how would you see your career as a musician?

Vincent: Career as a musician – that sounds wrong to me. I don’t have a career as a musician, I don’t have that; I’m not a career person as a musician, that’s just weird to think of it like that. Why did he pick up the cello? (points at Dave) Why did you start playing cello? Why do you still play cello now?

Dave: ‘Cause I love it! That’s it. If I didn’t love it, I’d stop, go do something else.

Vincent: Because it’s as much of you as your right arm, it’s not a thing that you think of, it’s you.

MAD: OK, then in other words: your musical life, your musical past – what made you most proud and what would you change?

Vincent: The next album is gonna make me proud. I’m proud of everything we’ve done, every single song is our own little baby and I can’t be regretful about anything really. Those things are all just lessons anyway, if you have regrets in life what is it for?  It’s just a lesson, the important thing is not to repeat the same mistakes, but as far as what I’m concerned it’s the future, it’s our next music. I hope that makes me as proud as I think it’s going to. I have my own beliefs about it, I just can’t wait to get it done. Then you’ll know. Then I don’t have to talk about it, then you can just listen to it and say: OK, it’s there. Don’t ask me any questions, it’s there, it’s just there, listen to it, you make your own mind, it’s there. That’s it.

MAD: What do you think it’s the most important thing in music?

Vincent: Good question… The most important thing in music?

Dave: I was just thinking that!

Ştefan: Some say there has to be a balance between what you express, the message, and the technique.

Vincent: Right. There’s no easy answer to that question, because there is no answer to that question. There’s no answer removed from people’s interpretation. Everybody has their own interpretation of music, everybody has their own expression, so there’s no actual cold answer to that question, it’s got to be from the person. I personally think it’s all about so many things… Sum it up quickly, sometime this year, Vincent… Honesty – in all ways, not just in lyrics, to be actually honest with yourself and say this is something I can live with. I just wanna be able to live with it, that’s all, it’s as simple as that. I just want to be able to live with the idea that I’ve done it. It’s got to sit along side the best stuff I listened to, it’s got to be as good as that.

Ştefan: Don’t you feel like crazy because you felt like expressing something and someway you couldn’t? You didn’t find the lyrics or you just didn’t find the right guitar line…

Vincent: Like in conversation? I felt crazy because I was sitting in the car with my ex-girlfriend, in silence for like an hour, I didn’t know what to say and it made me feel shit – that was horrible, that was awful.

Ştefan: As far as music goes, you felt something you wanted to turn into a song and…?

Vincent: Music is easy, you can do music, you don’t have to think, the hard part in life is when you have to think.

Ştefan: I’m gonna quote you on that.

Vincent: With relationships it’s difficult sometimes, with music it’s just natural, it’s the most natural revealing think you can do and the good thing about it is it doesn’t have any ego, it doesn’t have anything attached to it, it’s just itself and it’s free. And once you let it go, once you’re free within yourself you can let it go and it’s the most revealing and beautiful thing you can ever do. And that’s easy, that’s great, I love it. But as far as the other stuff, the hard thing is to talk about. I think sometimes, about the lyrics – we all have these moments of reflection, don’t we? These deepest, deepest questions that we ask ourselves, whether they are philosophical, or whether they are emotional, or whether we remove ourselves from the whole deal.

Ştefan: About that – did you ever feel like you were exposing yourself too much?

Vincent: No. I’ve exposed myself in public, my private parts in public on many occasions just for a laugh, I stripped off naked and walked down the street. I don’t really have too much of a care about all that kind of things. Again, it’s in relationships and in close contact where I used to be careful about revealing too much, but nowadays I changed completely; my whole life has changed, I’ve never been happier in my life ever, ever and I gotta tell you how good that feels, honestly. What it’s being life all about? It’s not about having these stupid ideas, about regret, and fear, and loneliness – all those things I used to carry around with me all my fuckin’ life – it fell off, it just fell off one week. It fell off me and I was just like: oh, my God… It happened about ten months ago. I’ve got nothing to hide anymore and that’s great.

Ştefan: You performed some Pink Floyd, would you consider doing something similar to The Dark Side of the Moon, so to say, a conceptual album?

Vincent: No… no. That’s Pink Floyd there; that’s Roger Waters there. What the fuck would I want to do that for? Why would we want to do that? We want to do our own thing right. If you’re talking about a conceptual album – possibly, possibly. But it’s difficult – you know, The Dark Side of the Moon was one vision, whereas ours is like three-four-five visions, so how could we make that cohesive and be honest at the same time? Roger Waters was talking about a different situation that we do; he was talking about the human condition, he was expressing himself through the eyes of a human being, the human being and he was expressing his own feelings and thoughts through that. What we are doing is expressing ourselves through ourselves, it’s a different thing altogether so I guess “no” would be the answer to your question.

Ştefan: Another thing: this year I think Liverpool is the European cultural capital, like Sibiu was last year – do you plan something about that?

Vincent: I don’t even live there anymore; it’s kind of funny, really – as soon as everything started to happen, I left, I’ve missed the boat. I wish Liverpool well, I really do. It’s a beautiful place to come from and it will be beautiful to go back to, eventually when I do go back.

Ştefan: So you plan on going back…

Vincent: Yeah, to visit people and to climb the Magic Tree in Central Park. There’s this tree in the park, it’s famous, you can climb it and as you get to the top the branches are all leveled out evenly so you can fit easily like six-seven people up there and it’s great just to sit there and get a bottle of champagne or something, for a special occasion, to go and toast the future. It’s things like that I wanna go back to, some people and as far as the cultural celebrations, Liverpool is a very cultural, musical-happening place, with its good sides and bad sides, a real mix, unlike anywhere else in England or on Earth I would imagine. It’s unique, really, it feels like nowhere else and I love it for that. I love coming from there, but I have to move on now, my life is not in Liverpool.

MAD: You seem a little bit nostalgic.

Vincent: I don’t live there anymore. I’m actually not that nostalgic, to tell you the truth. I’m quite glad to be out of it, but ask me in a couple of years, maybe I’ll have a bit more nostalgia, now it’s too soon.

Ştefan: Where would you like to live?

MAD: Except that bungalow…

Vincent: Paris. Except the bungalow (laughs). I don’t wanna live in the bungalow! Paris, I’d love to live in Paris.

Ştefan: Did it bother when all the people started to applaud yesterday night? You had some dialog with the public telling them to keep it low.

Vincent: That was Danny! Me and him are different. Different people, as simple as that.

Ştefan: So it didn’t bother you.

Vincent: Not me, no. I accept it. People pay the money, they buy ticket, they wanna come. As long as they don’t start shouting over the music when you’re trying to play an acoustic concert… If they start shouting over the music by being drunk and things like that – then that’s wrong. But they weren’t like that yesterday; in betweens songs yes, but they were very quite during the songs, which is fine. Yeah, great, great, great listening and in between songs as far as I’m concerned do whatever you like. That’s the way I am, different than Danny I suppose.

MAD: Thank you.

Vincent: Cheers.

And that was one of the most interesting conversations I remember, I’m glad I got the chance to do it, with no time constraints. Not to mention the autograph I got on my poster, something like: To Diana. May nothing but happiness come through door. Beautiful. Thank you, Vincent.

 

 

 

About mad

https://morbidangeldyana.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Concerte and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interviu: Anathema

  1. Paul Slayer says:

    Great, congrats!

Leave a Reply

